European Pet Love

Posted on November 10, 2010. Filed under: 1. Daily Life | Tags: , , , , , , , , , |

My Furry Buddy in Venice

My husband and I just got back from a 17 day Europe trip, and it was incredible! It was truly trains, planes and automobiles – a wonderful adventure! We went to Italy, Hungary and France. That was the longest we’ve been away from our pets, and I must say after a few days, I needed a pet fix! Thank goodness in Murano (an island off of Venice) I met such a cute dog. I never found out his name, but he greeted tourists who came to the glass blowing demonstration. His owners make a living by blowing glass into the most beautiful vases, statues and chandeliers.

Glass Blowing in Murano

The dog was friendly and well behaved. I loved petting him! It made me miss my dog and cat.

Germie and Caesar

In Ajka, Hungary while visiting my relatives for the first time, I got to meet Germie (dog) and  Caesar (cat). Although Germie had owners who take good care of him, he loves my aunt and uncle, who spoil him with belly rubs and food over the fence. Germie and Caesar get along really well – it’s very sweet!

We noticed that the pets in Europe, even the few strays we saw, were healthy and happy. We learned that the people in the areas we visited are big animal advocates, and this made my heart sing! I did notice that there were quite a few homeless people with pets in Paris. Although the pets looked healthy, and I’m sure they are great companions to the men and women who live on the streets, I don’t believe that is the ideal lifestyle for those animals. In some cases, it was obvious that the pets were used as a means to get money from those passing by. We saw one homeless man with kittens and puppies.

However, for the most part, Europe seemed extremely pet friendly, which made my experience there that much better!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

