My Heart is with Shelter Pets

Posted on October 31, 2010. Filed under: 1. Daily Life | Tags: , , , , , , , , , |

Today I went to the shelter with my sister to help her find the perfect little dog.  I volunteer at the San Diego Humane Society and absolutely love it, but as I walked through the halls today and looked at all those beautiful faces with soulful eyes looking back at me, it just broke my heart to know they were all waiting for homes. I wish I could adopt them all. It makes me sad to know that for whatever reason, these innocent pets were given up. I don’t want to judge anyone who had to make that difficult decision, and I respect the fact that they took their pet to a shelter, which is the responsible thing to do. However, it still tugs at my heart strings when I see these homeless pets. I wonder what their past life was like – What was their home like? What have they experienced before they arrived at the shelter? What are they thinking now? When I see them in their habitats, I envision them in a loving, warm home, wagging their tails with a smiling family. Pets are my passion. I want every one to be happy and healthy and experience a full life. Our shelters do the best they can, but it’s not the same as a home. I will continue to volunteer at the shelter – one of my favorite things to do – and encourage anyone looking for a furry family member to adopt a rescue. This is my way of doing what I can to make a difference in an effort that means the world to me.

Both my dog and cat are rescue pets, and I’m proud to say that! Rescue pets are the best – all they want is to be loved, and they love you unconditionally. I truly believe that they know they were rescued. If you are thinking about getting a pet, please consider rescuing one. BTW, the two dogs my sister loved have already found homes, which is wonderful, so she is going back this week to look again. Stay tuned!

– Michelle Brubaker

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

